Programs

Our programs combine outstanding scientific training with state-of-the-art clinical medicine to train individuals as physician-scientists, excelling in careers in research and education.
 

Combined Degree
MD/PhD
Director: Daniel A. Walz, Ph.D.
dwalz@med.wayne.edu
313-577-9553

 

Doctor of Philosophy  
Anatomy and Cell Biology
Director: Susmit Suvas, Ph.D.
ssuvas@med.wayne.edu
313-577-9820
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Director: David Evans, Ph.D.
drevans@med.wayne.edu,
313-577-1016
Cancer Biology
Director: George S. Brush, Ph.D.
brushg@karmanos.org
313-578-4300
Immunology and Microbiology
Director: T.R.Reddy, Ph.D.
trreddy@med.wayne.edu,
313-577-1310
Medical Physics
Director: Jay Burmeister, Ph.D.
burmeist@med.wayne.edu
313-576-9624
Molecular Genetics and Genomics
Director: Russell Finley, Jr., Ph.D.
rfinley@wayne.edu
313-577-7845
Pathology
Director: Todd Leff, Ph.D.
tleff@med.wayne.edu
313-577-3006
Pharmacology
Director: John Reiners, Ph.D.
ad5180@wayne.edu
313-577-5594
Physiology
Director: Robert Lasley, Ph.D.
rlasley@med.wayne.edu,
313-577-9444
Translational Neuroscience Program
Director: Jeffrey Stanley, Ph.D.
jstanley@med.wayne.edu
313-577-9090

 

Master of Science  
Basic Medical Science
Director: George S. Brush, Ph.D.
brushg@med.wayne.edu
313-577-1455
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Director: David Evans, Ph.D.
drevans@med.wayne.edu
313-577-1016

Cancer Biology 
Director: Youming Xie
yoxi@med.wayne.edu
313-578-4319
 

Genetic Counseling
Director: Angela Trepanier, M.S.
atrepani@med.wayne.edu
313-577-6298
Medical Research
msmedicalresearch@med.wayne.edu,
313-577-1455

Molecular Genetics and Genomics
Director: Russell Finley, Jr., Ph.D.
rfinley@wayne.edu
313-577-7845

MPH (Public Health Program)
Director: Kimberley Campbell-Voytal, PhD
kvoytal@med.wayne.edu
313-577-9454
Physiology
Director: Robert Lasley, Ph.D.
rlasley@med.wayne.edu
313-577-9444
Medical Physics
Director: Jay Burmeister, Ph.D.
burmeist@med.wayne.edu
313-576-9617
 

 

Certification Programs  
Graduate Certificate in Clinical and Translational Science
Director: Daniel A. Walz, Ph.D.
dwalz@med.wayne.edu
313-577-9553
Graduate Certificate in Medical Physics
Director: Jay Burmeister, Ph.D.
burmeist@med.wayne.edu,
313-576-9624
Graduate Certificate in Public Health Practice
Director: Kimberley Campbell-Voytal, Ph.D.
kvoytal@med.wayne.edu
313-577-9454