Programs

Our programs combine outstanding scientific training with state-of-the-art clinical medicine to train individuals as physician-scientists, excelling in careers in research and education.
 

Combined Degree
MD/PhD
Director: Daniel A. Walz, Ph.D.
dwalz@med.wayne.edu
313-577-9553

 

Doctor of Philosophy  
Anatomy and Cell Biology
Graduate Officer: Susmit Suvas, Ph.D.
ssuvas@med.wayne.edu
313-577-9820
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Graduate Officer: David Evans, Ph.D.
drevans@med.wayne.edu,
313-577-1016
Cancer Biology
Graduate Officer: George S. Brush, Ph.D.
brushg@karmanos.org
313-578-4300
Immunology and Microbiology
Graduate Officer: T.R.Reddy, Ph.D.
trreddy@med.wayne.edu,
313-577-1310
Medical Physics
Graduate Officer: Jay Burmeister, Ph.D.
burmeist@med.wayne.edu
313-576-9624
Molecular Genetics and Genomics
Graduate Officer: Russell Finley, Jr., Ph.D.
rfinley@wayne.edu
313-577-7845
Pathology
Graduate Officer: Todd Leff, Ph.D.
tleff@med.wayne.edu
313-577-3006
Pharmacology
Graduate Officer: John Reiners, Ph.D.
ad5180@wayne.edu
313-577-5594
Physiology
Graduate Officer: Robert Lasley, Ph.D.
rlasley@med.wayne.edu,
313-577-9444
Translational Neuroscience Program
Graduate Officer: Alana Conti, Ph.D.
aconti@med.wayne.edu
313-577-3311

 

Master of Science  
Anatomy & Cell Biology
Director: Avril Genene Holt, Ph.D.
agholt@med.wayne.edu 
313-577-5073
Basic Medical Science
Director: George S. Brush, Ph.D.
brushg@med.wayne.edu
313-577-1455
Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Graduate Officer: Robert Akins, Ph.D.
rakins@med.wayne.edu 
313-577-0419
Cancer Biology 
Graduate Officer: Youming Xie
yoxi@med.wayne.edu
313-578-4319
 

Genetic Counseling
Graduate Officer: Angela Trepanier, M.S.
atrepani@med.wayne.edu
313-577-6298

Medical Research
msmedicalresearch@med.wayne.edu,
313-577-1455
Molecular Genetics and Genomics
Graduate Officer: Russell Finley, Jr., Ph.D.
rfinley@wayne.edu
313-577-7845

MPH (Public Health Program)
Director: Kimberley Campbell-Voytal, PhD
kvoytal@med.wayne.edu
313-577-9454

Physiology
Graduate Officer: Robert Lasley, Ph.D.
rlasley@med.wayne.edu
313-577-9444
Medical Physics
Graduate Officer: Jay Burmeister, Ph.D.
burmeist@med.wayne.edu
313-576-9617

 

Certification Programs  
Graduate Certificate in Medical Physics
Graduate Officer: Jay Burmeister, Ph.D.
burmeist@med.wayne.edu,
313-576-9624
 
Graduate Certificate in Public Health Practice
Director: Kimberley Campbell-Voytal, Ph.D.
kvoytal@med.wayne.edu
313-577-9454